Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ceres High Altitude Mapping Orbit (HAMO)
Unmanned Spaceflight.com > Other Missions > Cometary and Asteroid Missions > Dawn
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Bill Harris
Remember that when looking across an area with grounds mists or fog that mist will show up looking parallel to the ground through a greater sight distance. And remember the hazes and mists sen by Alan Bean and other Apollo visitors. As well as the hazes and aeolian features on Rosetta's 67P/C-G. And don't forget Pluto's visible and layered atmosphere. You don't necessarily require a thick and sensible atmosphere to have atmospheric phenomenon.

--Bill
ZLD
HAMO 74

atomoid
just for kicks, here's a coarse crosseye taken from images c and d and image c converted to crosseye from the nature articles referenced in Habukaz' post.
Click to view attachment Click to view attachment
David Wright
Hi guys-

Newbie here, so be gentle.

I haven't seen any discussion about what appears to me as glaciers in the polar craters. A typical 'mudflow' in an equatorial crater runs out onto the crater floor, and is the same color of the surrounding material. Here are two examples.

Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment

On the other hand, things you see in the polar craters (from PIA20126) lie on north- or northeast-facing slopes (just where you'd expect volatiles to be found), don't run out onto the crater floor, and are lighter in color. In the north polar region I found about 25 of these features - here's a section of the polar image with 4 craters showing light-colored material on the inner walls. North is to the left.
Click to view attachment

What do you think? They look like glaciers to me.

David
elakdawalla
They do think these are ice-cored or ice-cemented creeping flows -- see this post, the part where Jennifer Scully gives Britney Schmidt's talk about flow features on Ceres.

The 3rd photo you posted looks like image artifacts in shadowed areas.
fredk