Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ring near edge on illumination
Unmanned Spaceflight.com > Outer Solar System > Saturn > Cassini Huygens > Cassini general discussion and science results
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
phase4
Here's a rough composition of 8 pictures.

Click to view attachment
The Singing Badger
QUOTE (phase4 @ Aug 7 2009, 09:08 AM) *
Here's a rough composition of 8 pictures.

That is quite simply jaw-dropping.

Makes me long for an X-wing Fighter or suchlike, to go flying among those bizarre orbiting rockpiles.
chemman
New Cassini ring images released by CICLOPS

ADMIN - Don't copy and paste an entire press release - just link to it.

Sorry about that, I'll keep that in mind for the future.

Gsnorgathon
Anticipation Builds as Equinox Draws Near

They got that right! laugh.gif
PFK
Fascinating stuff!
As a chemist I have to say if I saw an image like from a reaction set up, I'd conclude we were growing crystals at an interface wacko.gif
ugordan
Saturn on August 5th and a large enhancement:
Click to view attachmentClick to view attachment

Looks like Saturn's night side is finally actually dark. I believe the speck above is Enceladus.
jasedm
QUOTE (alan @ Aug 5 2009, 05:51 AM) *

Well spotted Alan! this has now been officially confirmed as a ~400m moonlet orbiting just above the ring plane see here
Bjorn Jonsson
Having seen the recent WAC images showing Saturn and the rings where the brightness of the rings varies in the radial direction and where the brightness is at maximum 'in front of' Saturn's dayside I decided to determine the approximate Saturnshine distribution and intensity on the rings since it currently dominates due to the low solar elevation angle.

This is an unprocessed rendering showing the results. The Saturn/rings brightness ratio is highly approximate (the rings are probably too bright). In contrast, the light distribution and relative intensity within the ringsystem should be fairly accurate:
Click to view attachment