Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The Pioneer Anomaly
Unmanned Spaceflight.com > Other Missions > Private Missions
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Stephen
QUOTE (Merek Chertkow's report)
Merek Chertkow's report on the 2005 Pioneer Anomaly Conference
"Turyshev and John Anderson, also of JPL, with financial support from The Planetary Society were able to save this additional information from simply being thrown in the dumpster! I know what you must be thinking! I can’t believe it either!"
That sounds just like the anecdote Don Wilhelms tells in "To a Rocky Moon"! When will NASA learn stop throwing its treasures out with the trash?
Steffen
Sorry, but what is this anomaly about?
( I'm a Newbie asking too many questions ) blink.gif
elakdawalla
QUOTE (Steffen @ Jan 8 2006, 11:07 PM)
( I'm a Newbie asking too many questions  ) blink.gif

Google searches will answer lots of questions -- try here for starters.
The Pioneer Anomaly

--Emily
Planet X
QUOTE (tfisher @ Jan 3 2006, 01:10 AM)
Another cool tidbit: there is one last opportunity to attempt to contact Pioneer 10, coming up in this February/March.  (They think that, just barely maybe there is enough power still now in the old RTGs...) The round-trip light-time is 25 hours, so the contact would proceed by sending out a signal from Goldstone, waiting a day while the earth spins around once and the radio waves make their merry way, and listening for a response again at Goldstone.  Somehow that image amuses me :^)

Cool! I hope they attempt it and it's successful. Later!

J P
djellison
I have an image in my head of driving around the M25 ( the london 'orbital' motorway ) and yelling at a service station "BIG MAC AND FRIES PLEASE"...then doing another lap of the motorway, only to have a burger land on my windscreen about 80 miles later once I was back in the same place smile.gif

Doug
The Messenger
QUOTE (Steffen @ Jan 9 2006, 12:07 AM)
( I'm a Newbie asking too many questions  ) blink.gif