Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Water On Mars Now?
Unmanned Spaceflight.com > Mars & Missions > Past and Future > MER > Opportunity
Dawg
I'm a newbie and not too adept at internet stuff. But I have been following the Mars rovers pretty closely. In December, when Opportunity was making its way out of Endurance Crater it took photos of rock slabs, several of which had what looked like muddy water around the base. About the same time the NASA Mars site announced the discovery of conditions that would indicate an ancient site of a sea bed - a conclusion derived from geology, not the current presence of ground water. I have downloaded those photos but I'm not sure how to send them here with a posting. I did not keep most of the URLs with the photos, only the lengthy NASA/JPL id codes for each one. I would love feedback from an expert on these photos, but never received a reply from NASA when I wrote them (They ARE a bit busy these days!) I'll be happy to send these photos to this site if someone can tell me how to do it. I have Windows XP. Thanks

Here’s the one URL I do have: http://qt.exploratorium.edu/mars....0M1.JPG

It looks even more like water if you can zoom in on it.

I know Mars is too cold to sustain liquid water, but this looks more like the way a fluid acts than fine dust particles. A few days ago Spirit was moving through Rocky slabs that looked similar to these and there was much fine dust. The way it was settling on and around rocks was not as distinctively liquid like as that at the Opportunity site. I’d like to know if there some other liquid that may be on Mars that may tolerate the cold. Titan has colder temperatures and has methane seas.
aldo12xu
Hey Dawg,