Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Titan Relative Elevation Model
Unmanned Spaceflight.com > Outer Solar System > Saturn > Cassini Huygens > Titan
Juramike
Something I've been playing with for a few months - using channel and valley relationships in different terrain units to infer relative elevation.
Low order --> high order = upstream --> downstream = higher elevation --> lower elevation.

While many of the terrain units could be placed on a relative scale, others are speculative. So this is partly artistic speculation rather than hard science. Still, most of the observed relationships seem to fit the model. I also creatively blurred things to soften the transitions. Pixel values are relative, not absolute.

Relative Elevation Model of Sikun Labyrinthus, Titan:
Click to view attachment

Overlay of PIA10219 (crop of T39 SAR RADAR Swath) and the derived Relative Elevation Model of Sikun Labyrinthus, Titan:
Click to view attachment

-Mike

titanicrivers
That is a beautiful image Mike. (you're well on your way to creating a Google map of Titan!)
ustrax
Looks wonderful to me Mike! smile.gif
Phil Stooke
Yes, a very nice image and an interesting idea.

Phil
ngunn
Very pretty indeed, and with the potential to link to the inevitably incomplete absolute elevation control that Cassini will leave us with, this could become an extremely useful resource.
4th rock from the sun
Interesting idea... Perhaps the elevation could be computed from the drainage network analysis (length, parent/children number, density etc).
Well, very similar the classic geography exercise were you mark drainage basins .
Probably GIS software might be able to extrapolate something from the network contours and "water" divides.
Juramike
Test render by Bjorn Jonsson:

Click to view attachment
ngunn
Now that is dangerously believable (or would be with the vertical scale significantly reduced).
nprev