Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Virtual Viking
Unmanned Spaceflight.com > Mars & Missions > Past and Future
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Phil Stooke
In the past we've had some good Viking images here. Soon - all too soon - we will not have Phoenix any more, but despair not! Now we can re-live Viking by playing with old images. They can be searched by sol at the PDS.

As an example, I've made a composite of the very last Surface Sampler activities at either Viking site. This is work done on Viking 2 sol 957 and imaged on sol 957 and 959. (someone can animate it if they like!)

We see two separate trenching activities at the same place, and a soil dump (bottom) and a conical soil pile made by the second dump (middle). (more obvious in an animation, I just can't make one on this machine).

Phil

Click to view attachment
imipak
Attempt at an animation - not terribly good I'm afraid, I'm a clumsy beginner at this image processing lark.

Click to view attachment
PhilCo126
Great idea Phil... that will bring back some childhood memories.
1976 was a great year for a 10-year old smile.gif
Phil Stooke
This is a set of four images documenting that last sampler activity. It is labelled with sol dates. The first trench was dug more than a year before the final digging event.
(EDIT: I have replaced the previous image with a corrected one, and fixed the text describing it)

This last digging event came so late in the mission that it is not documented in the trench maps published by Hank Moore et al. If anyone knows a final trench map that includes it I'd be pleased to know about it. Otherwise I will be making one myself in due course. Note - images 2 and 3 show no surface difference, just different lighting.

I will assemble other surface activity sequences like this, and I'd like to encourage others to join me.

Phil

Click to view attachment
tedstryk
Ricardo Nunes and I worked together on some images. I made the grayscale images and he did he color.