Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Undistorting Hazcam images?
Unmanned Spaceflight.com > Mars & Missions > Past and Future > MER > Tech, General and Imagery
lupine
Hi,

I'm new here, but in my lurking I've seen a lot of great stuff, and it looks like this might be the right place to ask this question.

I'm using Gennery's CAHVORE method in some Computer Vision research with a wide-angle lens. Performing the calibration and using the parameters in my work is not a problem, but I'd like to perform an undistortion of the images. I've found some vague details while looking up the Hazcam info, but there's not enough concrete details in it to work it out.

I was wondering whether anybody here knows how to linearize/undistort Hazcam imagery.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
algorimancer
I have some experience using the CAHVOR (not CAHVORE) model to convert pixels to real-space vectors (and the reverse), which requires both the CAHVOR model and its inverse. The inverse for the CAHVORE model is a bit tricky to implement, as I recall, and I decided (in the context of developing my rangefinder/photogrammetry tool http://www.clarkandersen.com/RangeFinder.htm) that it was more trouble than it was worth, as the hazcams don't show much of interest. If I recall correctly, linearizing would be a matter of converting pixels to vectors, then projecting the vectors onto a plane orthogonal to the camera sight-vector. I've messed-about with projecting pixels onto the ground plane, but I'm sure that there must be a better technique than the one I used. Let me know if I can be of assistance.
djellison
It doesn't help you that much in terms of the work flow - but as a reference point - all the images that get dumped onto the PDS are provided in an undistorted way as well....

http://anserver1.eprsl.wustl.edu/navigator...FF69GJP1275L0M1

for example.

Doug
algorimancer
Perhaps this will be helpful.

http://www-mipl.jpl.nasa.gov/vicar/vicar29...p/marscahv.html
Ant103