Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: http://www.wanderingspace.net
Unmanned Spaceflight.com > EVA > Conferences and Broadcasts
mgrodzki
i am an occasional visitor to unmanned and usually go surfing here for great images that i cannot find elsewhere. i started a blog of space images for the unwashed masses. i am not a scientist, so i am taking a stab at something i know 100x what the average person knows, but 1/1000 of what y'all know. anyway, it started by making these wallpapers for my computer and so many people liked them i was told to enter the blogosphere. any technical facts need correcting please let me know.

i also “repair” images from time to time, but i don't do it scientifically as you do here. my intention is to show places as they might appear if you were there… not to submit for scientific scrutiny. so sometimes i continue the rings of saturn beyond where they were cropped in the original, or i colorize b&w images using other color references of the same world. i attached an example of one.

take a look: http://www.wanderingspace.net
lyford
love the mimas against ring shadow desktop.... welcome aboard!
mgrodzki
thanks. i was hoping someone might beat me over the head about anything inaccurate or misrepresentative on there. anyone have any issues with the “touch up” work i have done on these?

in particular i tried colorizing the newly interpreted venera data. anyone else on here take a shot at this?

i just noticed they moved this to the cassini group… hmmm. not exactly right either.

Click to view attachment
lyford
I certainly can't speak for everyone here, but as a fellow "enthusiast" I would think that since you are describing them as desktop images, they will be judged for artistic merit instead of their scientific accuracy. smile.gif